New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

ArtB
Infrequent Poster

USA
9 Posts

Posted - 11/27/2008 :  00:33:17  Show Profile
As the holidays approach, I thought it would be nice to make my greeting card cover with Strata. I was doing fine until I tried to create the nutcracker - it is complete except for the cotton ball style hair that would cover the upper part of the head. I can't seem to tweak the hair FX to get the level of fuzzyness I want, and I really don't want to have to resort to editing the rendered graphic (I'm not an artist). Can anyone provide some tips on how to get a cotton ball look that can be linked to a 1/2 hollow sphere? Once the model is done, I will try to figure out how to post it to the resource pool for others to play with.

Thanks
Art.

tbgriswold
Regularly Educational

USA
1446 Posts

Posted - 11/28/2008 :  10:47:54  Show Profile  Visit tbgriswold's Homepage
You might start with the preset "Curly Q" and then refine the settings and cranking the density up to 400% or so. Some experimentation is in order.

Britt
Go to Top of Page

ArtB
Infrequent Poster

USA
9 Posts

Posted - 11/28/2008 :  11:09:40  Show Profile
Thanks Britt - but I gave up on using the hair textures. My final (not great, but good enough for my purposes) result was to:
- create an ngon that followed the curve of the head and added some thickness.
- lathed ngon 200 degrees and adjusted diameter to correct size
- photographed some shredded cotton balls on a black background, photoshopped to tweak contrast and size and converted to 8-bit grey.
- applied image as diffuse color, diffuse and bump